at the 44th Annual News Emmys 9/28/23
in , , ,

News Categories Winners for The 44th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards Announced

CNN Leads With 10 Wins Followed By Vice News With 9 Wins

(NEW YORK) SEPTEMBER 27, 2023 – Winners of the News categories of the 44th Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards were announced today by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS). The awards were presented at the Palladium Times Square in New York City.

Wolf Blitzer, anchor of CNN’s The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer, was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his 50-year career in journalism, including 33 years at CNN. The award was presented by Sam Feist, CNN Washington Bureau Chief and Senior Vice President.

44th Annual News Emmys at the Palladium, Times Square 9/27/23

The News & Documentary Emmy® Awards are presented as two individual ceremonies: categories honoring Television News Programming were presented tonight; categories honoring Documentaries will be presented tomorrow, Thursday, September 28th. Both tonight’s and tomorrow’s ceremony are live-streamed at 7:30 p.m. EDT / 4:30 p.m. PDT on our dedicated platform, Watch.TheEmmys.TV powered by Vimeo.

“This year’s News Emmy honorees are a testament to the health and vitality of the broadcast journalism profession,” said Terry O’Reilly, Chairman, NATAS. “Tonight’s winning reports shine a light on events of critical importance to a global audience while adhering to the highest standards of the craft of journalism. There has never been a time when the need for fact-based, objective journalism is more pressing, and we congratulate tonight’s winners for their achievement.”

“In addition to celebrating the remarkable achievements of tonight’s Emmy winners, the Academy is pleased to honor Wolf Blitzer with our prestigious Emmy® Award for Lifetime Achievement,” said Adam Sharp, NATAS CEO & President. “Wolf is a consummate professional who has been at the front lines of CNN’s coverage of every major event ‘happening now’ over the last thirty years. We also are thrilled to congratulate our inaugural class of national news Gold and Silver Circle honorees for their service to our industry and their countless hours of mentorship and support for the next generation.”

Drawing of Wolf Blitzer by Jake Tapper at Silent Auction at the 44th Annual News Emmys 9/28/23

The inaugural class of national Gold and Silver Circle honorees for news was inducted tonight. The Gold and Silver Circle is a society honoring members of the television and wider broadcasting community who have made an enduring contribution to the industry. Gold Circle and Silver members have a tenure of 50 and 25 years in the broadcasting profession respectively.


David Martin, National Security Correspondent, CBS News
John Quiñones, ABC News Correspondent, “20/20,” “Nightline” and “Good Morning America,” Host, “What Would You Do,” ABC News
Dan Rather, Anchor, Journalist, Founder, News and Guts


Steve Fastook, Senior Vice President of Operations, CNBC
Kim Godwin, President, ABC News
Rand Morrison, Executive Producer, CBS News Sunday Morning, CBS News
Steve Osunsami, Senior National Correspondent, ABC News
Otto Padron, President & CEO, Meruelo Media
Thomas Snowden, Editor, NBC News

Tonight’s News ceremony was hosted by a group of news industry leaders introducing different segments of the show. The group included:

Yousur Al-Hlou, Video Journalist, New York Times 

Ellison Barber, Correspondent, NBC News 

Norah O’Donnell, Anchor and Managing Editor, “CBS Evening News”

Bruce Paisner, President & CEO, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

John Quiñones, Correspondent, “20/20,” “Nightline” and “Good Morning America,” Host, “What Would You Do,” ABC News

Johana Suárez, Anchor and Correspondent, Telemundo News 

Pedro Ultreras, Journalist, Univision  

Clarissa Ward, Chief International Correspondent, CNN

The 44th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honor programming content from more than 2300 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2022, judged by a pool of over 1000 peer professionals from across the television and streaming/digital media News & Documentary industry.

The 44th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards was produced by NATAS with Lisa Armstrong and Adam Sharp, Executive Producers, and David Winn and Christine Chin, News & Documentary Administration. Tonight’s program was Directed by John D’Incecco.

The complete list of winners is also available on the National Television Academy’s website:


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Steven Prusakowski

Steven Prusakowski has been a cinephile as far back as he can remember, literally. At the age of ten, while other kids his age were sleeping, he was up into the late hours of the night watching the Oscars. Since then, his passion for film, television, and awards has only grown. For over a decade he has reviewed and written about entertainment through publications including Awards Circuit and Screen Radar. He has conducted interviews with some of the best in the business - learning more about them, their projects and their crafts. He is a graduate of the RIT film program. You can find him on Twitter and Letterboxd as @FilmSnork – we don’t know why the name, but he seems to be sticking to it.

Interview: ‘The Creator’ Co-Cinematographers Greig Fraser and Oren Soffer Discuss the Sci-Fi Epic’s Distinct Visual Style

Awards Radar Podcast #156: Joey Preps Myles for ‘Saw X’ Before They Take a Whole Host of Questions