in ,

Nominations for the 2021 Austin Film Critics Association (AFCA) Awards

The Austin Film Critics Association has announced their 2021 awards for the best films of 2021. The Power Of The Dog led the nominations with 9, followed closely by Licorice Pizza and Dune each with 8 nominations a piece.

Here are the nominees:

Best Film

  • Dune
  • The Green Knight
  • Licorice Pizza
  • Pig
  • The Power Of The Dog

Best Director

  • Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice Pizza)
  • Jane Campion (The Power Of The Dog)
  • Ryûsuke Hamaguchi (Drive My Car)
  • David Lowery (The Green Knight)
  • Denis Villeneuve (Dune)

Best Actress

  • Olivia Colman (The Lost Daughter)
  • Penelope Cruz (Parallel Mothers)
  • Alana Haim (Licorice Pizza)
  • Kristen Stewart (Spencer)
  • Agathe Rouselle (Titane)

Best Actor

  • Nicholas Page (Pig)
  • Benedict Cumberbatch (The Power Of The Dog)
  • Andrew Garfield (tick, tick…Boom!)
  • Simon Rex (Red Rocket)
  • Denzel Washington (The Tragedy Of Macbeth)

Best Supporting Actress

  • Ariana DeBose (West Side Story)
  • Ann Dowd (Mass)
  • Kirsten Dunst (The Power Of The Dog)
  • Kathryn Hunter (The Tragedy Of Macbeth)
  • Ruth Negga (Passing)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Bradley Cooper (Licorice Pizza)
  • Colman Domingo (Zola)
  • Vincent Lindon (Titane)
  • Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Power Of The Dog)
  • Jeffrey Wright (The French Dispatch)

Best Ensemble

  • Dune
  • The French Dispatch
  • The Harder They Fall
  • Licorice Pizza
  • Mass

Best Original Screenplay

  • Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice Pizza)
  • Wes Anderson (The French Dispatch)
  • Vanessa Block and Michael Sarnoski (Pig)
  • Fran Kranz (Mass)
  • Mike Mills (C’mon C’mon)

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Jane Campion (The Power Of The Dog)
  • Ryusuke Hamaguchi and Takamasa Oe (Drive My Car)
  • Sian Heder (CODA)
  • David Lowery (The Green Knight)
  • Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth (Dune)

Best Cinematography

  • Bruno Delbonnel (The Tragedy Of Macbeth)
  • Greg Fraiser (Dune)
  • Janusz Kaminski (West Side Story)
  • Andrew Droz Palermo (The Green Knight)
  • Ari Wegner (The Power Of The Dog)

Best Editing

  • Andy Jurgensen (Licorice Pizza)
  • Peter Sciberras (The Power Of The Dog)
  • Claire Simpson (The Last Duel)
  • Thomas Stanford (West Side Story)
  • Joe Walker (Dune)

Best Original Score

  • Johnny Greenwood (The Power Of The Dog)
  • Johnny Greenwood (Spencer)
  • Daniel Hart (The Green Knight)
  • Roert Aiki Aubrey Lowe (Candyman)
  • Hans Zimmer (Dune)

Best International Film

  • Drive My Car
  • Lamb
  • Parallel Mothers
  • Titane
  • The Worst Person In The World

Best Documentary

  • Flee
  • The Rescue
  • The Sparks Brothers
  • Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)
  • The Velvet Underground

Best Animated Film

  • Belle
  • Encanto
  • Flee
  • Luca
  • The Mitchell’s vs. The Machines

Best Voice Acting/Animated/Digital Performance

  • Stephanie Beatriz (Encanto)
  • Abbi Jacobson (The Mitchell’s vs. The Machines)
  • John Leguizamo (Encanto)
  • Danny McBride (The Mitchell’s vs The Machines)
  • Kaho Nakamura (Belle)

Best Stunts

  • Dune
  • No Time To Die
  • Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home
  • Raging Fire

Best First Film

  • Maggie Gyllenhaal (The Lost Daughter)
  • Rebecca Hall (Passing)
  • Fran Kranz (Mass)
  • Michael Samoski (Pig)
  • Emma Seligman (Shiva Baby)

The Robert R. “Bobby” McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist Award

  • Ariana DeBose (West Side Story)
  • Alana Haim (Licorice Pizza)
  • Emilia Jones (CODA)
  • Agathe Rousselle (Titane)
  • Rachel Sennott (Shiva Baby)

Best Austin Film

  • The Carnivores
  • The Get Together
  • Happier Than Ever: A Love Letter To Los Angeles
  • Queens Of Pain
  • Without Getting Killed Or Caught

The AFCA will announce the winners on Tuesday, January 11th.


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Adriano Caporusso

Why We Don’t Need Worst of the Year Lists: A Gentle Reminder

Interview: John Reynolds & Meredith Hagner on What to Expect in the Final Season of ‘Search Party’