in , , ,

75th Palme d’Or Goes to ‘Triangle of Sadness’ as the Cannes Film Festival Wraps


The 75th Cannes Film Festival has come to a close! In true Cannes fashion, the predictions that Robert and I made here a few days ago weren’t too accurate, but followed a different logic than the Jury. Now, we did get a few right, as you can see (we both nailed Song Kang-ho taking the Actor prize for Broker, while I got actress right with Zar Amir Ebrahimi for Holy Spider), and came close on others. As for the actual winners, the Palme d’Or went to Ruben Östlund for his film Triangle of Sadness, making him a two-time winner. Other prize winners this afternoon include the aforementioned Song Kang-ho for Broker, as well as a special citation for Jean-Pierre Dardenne and Luc Dardenne, but you’ll be able to see the full results below…

Here now are all of the winners from the 75th Cannes Film Festival:


Palme d’Or: “Triangle of Sadness,” Ruben Östlund

Grand Prix — TIE: “Stars at Noon,” Claire Denis AND “Close,” Lukas Dhont

Director: Park Chan-wook, “Decision to Leave”

75th Anniversary Special Award: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, “Tori & Lokita”

Actor: Song Kang-ho, “Broker”

Actress: Zar Amir-Ebrahimi, “Holy Spider”

Jury Prize — TIE: “The Eight Mountains,” Félix Van Groeningen and Charlotte Vandermeersch AND “EO,” Jerzy Skolimowski

Screenplay: Tarik Saleh, “Boy From Heaven”


Camera d’Or: “War Horse,” Gina Gammell and Riley Keough

Camera d’Or Special Mention: “Plan 75,” Hayakawa Chie

Short Films Palme d’Or:“The Water Murmurs,” Jianying Chen

Short Films Special Mention:“Lori,” Abinash Bikram Shah

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: “All That Breathes,” Shaunak Sen

Queer Palm: “Joyland”


Un Certain Regard Award: “The Worst Ones,” Lise Akoka, Romane Gueret

Jury Prize: “Joyland,” Saim Sadiq

Best Director Prize: Alexandru Belc, “Metronom”

Best Performance Prize — TIE: Vicky Krieps, “Corsage” and Adam Bessa, “Harka”

Best Screenplay Prize: Maha Haj, “Mediterranean Fever”

Coup de Coeur Award: “Rodeo,” Lola Quivoron


Europa Cinemas Label: “One Fine Morning,” Mia Hansen-Løve

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “The Mountain,” Thomas Salvador


Nespresso Grand Prize: “La Jauria,” Andres Ramirez Pulido

French Touch Prize: “Aftersun,” Charlotte Wells

GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: Urban Distribution, “The Woodcutter Story”

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Zelda Samson, “Love According to Dalva”


First Prize: A Conspiracy Man,” Valerio Ferrara

Second Prize: “Somewhere,” Li Jiahe

Third Prize — TIE: “Glorious Revolution,” Masha Novikova AND “Humans Are Dumber When Crammed Up Together,” Laurène Fernandez

Source: Variety


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Robert Hamer
1 year ago

I am… fascinated by that special award they gave to Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne. It’s the one decision they made that really throws me. I almost wonder if they low-key wanted to give Tori and Lokita the top award but didn’t feel comfortable with awarding the brothers an unprecedented third Palme d’Or (although if anyone is going to do it eventually…).

It sort of reminds me of when the Academy believed Harold Russell was going to lose Best Supporting Actor for The Best Years of Our Lives so they gave him a Special Achievement Award, and then he won Best Supporting Actor anyway.

Robert Hamer
1 year ago
Reply to  Joey Magidson

One other interesting thing: Sweden is now the first and so far only country to have produced two filmmakers who won this award twice. Denmark, Yugoslavia, Japan, Belgium, Austria, the U.K., and we in the United States have filmmakers who have accomplished a two-fer at the festival, but only Sweden needs both hands to hold up Alf Sjöberg and Ruben Östlund.



Written by Joey Magidson

Interview: Sydney Sweeney on an Incredible Year of ‘Euphoria’ and ‘The White Lotus’

Sunday Scaries: It’s Wild That Sam Raimi’s Return to Horror Has Been Through Marvel