A24 / Apple TV+
in ,

The Critics Association of Central Florida Announces First Crop of Winners

A brand new critics group, the Critics Association of Central Florida, has revealed their inaugural slate of winners. The initial headliners? The Tragedy of Macbeth in Best Picture, Denis Villeneuve in Best Director for Dune, Andrew Garfield in Best Actor for tick, tick… Boom!, and Renate Reinsve in Best Actress for The Worst Person in the World. The rest are up next, but congrats to the CACF and best wishes going forward.

Below are all of the Critics Association of Central Florida winners:

Best Picture

Winner: The Tragedy of Macbeth

Runner-up: Licorice Pizza

Best Director

Winner: Denis Villenueve, Dune

Runner-up: Joel Coen, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Best Actor

Winner: Andrew Garfield, tick, tick… BOOM!

Runner-up: Peter Dinklage, Cyrano

Best Actress

Winner: Renate Reinsve, The Worst Person in the World

Runner-up: Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Bradley Cooper, Licorice Pizza

Runner-up: Troy Kotsur, CODA

Best Supporting Actress

Winner (tie): Ann Dowd, Mass / Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard

Runner-up: Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

Best Cast

Winner: Dune

Runner-up: Mass

Best Documentary

Winner: Flee

Runner-up: Summer of Soul (… or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Best International Film

Winner: A Hero

Runner-up: Drive My Car

Best Animated Film

Winner: The Mitchells vs. the Machines

Runner-up (tie): Flee / Luca

Best Screenplay

Winner: Fran Kranz, Mass

Runner-up: Aaron Sorkin, Being the Ricardos

Best Cinematography

Winner: Greig Fraser, Dune

Runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Best Score

Winner: Hans Zimmer, Dune

Runner-up: Johnny Greenwood, Spencer

Best Original Song

Winner: “No Time to Die”, No Time to Die

Runner-up: “Be Alive”, King Richard

In addition to the traditional line up of awards, the CACF has two special honors. “Best Central Florida Film” is a category designed to recognize outstanding achievement by a film with a significant connection to the Central Florida area. “Best Achievement in Diversity” is a category designed to recognize outstanding achievement by a film that showcases inclusion and diversity, both on the screen and behind the scenes. These winners are listed below.

Best Central Florida FIlm

Winner: King Richard

Best Achievement in Diversity

Winner: Eternals

The Critics Association of Central Florida is proud to recognize these amazing achievements in film.


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Steven Prusakowski

Steven Prusakowski has been a cinephile as far back as he can remember, literally. At the age of ten, while other kids his age were sleeping, he was up into the late hours of the night watching the Oscars. Since then, his passion for film, television, and awards has only grown. For over a decade he has reviewed and written about entertainment through publications including Awards Circuit and Screen Radar. He has conducted interviews with some of the best in the business - learning more about them, their projects and their crafts. He is a graduate of the RIT film program. You can find him on Twitter and Letterboxd as @FilmSnork – we don’t know why the name, but he seems to be sticking to it.
Email: filmsnork@gmail.com

2022 Golden Globes To Have No Livestream and Held as ‘Private Event’

Awards Season / Oscar Predictions Update: New Year…Same Picks? (Well, Not For Long)