in ,

Critics Choice Association Announces Inaugural “World Movie Awards”

Awards season is often a busy and complicated time. There are dozens upon dozens of different organizations hosting awards ceremonies – the Academy Awards, Golden Globes are just two of the biggest names – and usually, honor the greatest achievements in English-language cinema of the past year.

But foreign-language films definitely get overlooked by a ton of ceremonies come awards season. However, the Critics Choice Association aims to make a difference in 2022 when it debuts its “World Movie Awards” ceremony, which is said to “honor the finest in non-English language films”.

The Critics Choice Association have stated that this was their plan for years and is now possible thanks to the recent formation of an International Branch within their community this past Spring.

“It has been clear for some time that many, if not most, of the leading critics and entertainment journalists reporting for foreign audiences were not welcome in the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, so the CCA has opened its big tent and welcomed in dozens of them,” announced Critics Choice Association CEO Joey Berlin today.

Members of the International Branch will also be eligible to vote for the established Critics Choice Awards if they meet the organization’s voting requirements.  The CCA now has four Branches (Film, TV, Documentary and International) and almost 500 active members.

For updates on what films will be nominated for the first annual CCA World Movie Awards in 2022, stay tuned to Awards Radar.


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Caillou Pettis

Caillou Pettis is a professional film critic and has been writing about film for several years across various different publications. Ever since the age of nine, film and the art of filmmaking have been his number one passion. When hes

Sabrina Doyle’s ‘Lorelei’ Gets Official Trailer

The Academy Announces New Rule Changes to Various Categories for 2022 Oscars