in ,

British Independent Film Awards Worship ‘Saint Maud’ with 17 Nominations

The British Independent Film Awards announced the nominees for their 23rd annual awards, and first-time directors came up big. Rose GlassSaint Maud leads the pack with 17 nominations, with Remi WeekesHis House and Sarah Gavron and Anu Henrique’s Rocks following close behind with 16 and 15 nominations respectively.

Saint Maud is Glass’ debut feature, and premiered earlier this year in the U.K., while it has been repeatedly delayed stateside due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It received nominations for Best British Independent Film, Best Director, and Best Screenplay, as well as Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress nominations for Morfydd Clark and Jennifer Ehle.

Riz Ahmed, who is currently receiving critical acclaim and awards buzz for his performance in the film Sound of Metal, picked up four nominations for his films Mogul Mowgli and The Long Goodbye. For Mogul Mowgli he was nominated for Best Actor, Best Screenplay (alongside his co-writer on the film Bassam Tariq), and Best Debut Screenwriter, and his short The Long Goodbye was nominated for Best British Short Film.

A few of this year’s presumed Oscar players scooped up nominations, too. Florian Zeller’s The Father received 6 nominations, including Best British Independent Film, Best Director for Zeller, and Best Actor for Anthony Hopkins. Ammonite received two nominations, for Best Costume Design and Best Make Up & Hair Design. And Chloe Zhao’s acclaimed Nomadland picked up a nomination for Best International Independent Feature.

Here is the full list of nominations for the British Independent Film Awards, which are scheduled to take place in February.

Best British Independent Film

Calm With Horses

The Father

His House


Saint Maud

Best Director

Sarah Gavron, Rocks [Associate Director Anu Henriques]

Rose Glass, Saint Maud

Nick Rowland, Calm With Horses

Remi Weekes, His House

Florian Zeller, The Father

Best Screenplay

Rose Glass, Saint Maud

Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson, Rocks

Bassam Tariq, Riz Ahmed, Mogul Mowgli

Remi Weekes, His House

Florian Zeller, Christopher Hampton, The Father

Best Actress

Bukky Bakray, Rocks

Morfydd Clark, Saint Maud

Clare Dunne, Herself

Wunmi Mosaku, His House

Andrea Riseborough, Luxor

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed, Mogul Mowgli

Ṣọpẹ́ Dìrísù, His House

Amir El-Masry, Limbo

Anthony Hopkins, The Father

Cosmo Jarvis, Calm With Horses

Best Supporting Actress

Niamh Algar, Calm With Horses

Kosar Ali, Rocks

Jennifer Ehle, Saint Maud

Ashley Madekwe, County Lines

Fiona Shaw, Kindred

Best Supporting Actor

Harris Dickinson, County Lines

Barry Keoghan, Calm With Horses

Alyy Khan, Mogul Mowgli

Merab Ninidze, The Courier

D’angelou Osei Kissiedu, Rocks

The Douglas Hickox Award (Debut Director)

Henry Blake, County Lines

Rose Glass, Saint Maud

Eva Riley, Perfect 10

Nick Rowland, Calm With Horses

Remi Weekes, His House

Breakthrough Producer

Douglas Cox, Host [Also Produced By Emily Gotto, Samuel Zimmerman]

Daniel Emmerson, Calm With Horses

Irune Gurtubai, Limbo [Also Produced By Angus Lamont]

Oliver Kassman, Saint Maud [Also Produced By Andrea Cornwell]

Edward King, Martin Gentles, His House [Also Produced By Aidan Elliott, Roy Lee, Arnon Milchan]

Debut Screenwriter

Riz Ahmed, Mogul Mowgli [Also Written By Bassam Tariq]

Rose Glass, Saint Maud

Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson, Rocks

Joe Murtagh, Calm With Horses

Remi Weekes, His House

Most Promising Newcomer

Niamh Algar, Calm With Horses

Kosar Ali, Rocks

Bukky Bakray, Rocks

Frankie Box, Perfect 10

Conrad Khan, County Lines

Best Documentary

The Australian Dream

Being A Human Person

The Reason I Jump

Rising Phoenix

White Riot

The Raindance Discovery Award



One Man And His Shoes

Perfect 10

Rose: A Love Story

Best British Short Film


The Forgotten C

The Long Goodbye


Sudden Light

Best International Independent Film


Les Misérables

Never Rarely Sometimes Always



Best Casting

Shaheen Baig, Calm With Horses

Kharmel Cochrane, Saint Maud

Carmen Cuba, His House

Dan Jackson, Limbo

Lucy Pardee, Rocks

Best Cinematography

Nick Cooke, Limbo

Ben Fordesman, Saint Maud

Hélène Louvart, Rocks

Annika Summerson, Mogul Mowgli

Jo Willems, His House

Best Costume Design

Michele Clapton, The Secret Garden

Ruka Johnson, Rocks

Tina Kalivas, Saint Maud

Michael O’Connor, Ammonite

Charlotte Walter, Misbehaviour

Best Editing

Julia Bloch, His House

Yorgos Lamprinos, The Father

Maya Maffioli, Rocks

Brenna Rangott, Host

Mark Towns, Saint Maud

Best Effects

Agnes Asplund, Martin Malmqvist, Undergods

Scott Macintyre, Bariş Kareli, Kristyan Mallett, Saint Maud

Pedro Sabrosa, Stefano Pepin, His House

Best Make Up & Hair Design

Jacquetta Levon, Saint Maud

Sharon A Martin, His House

Ivana Primorac, Ammonite

Nora Robertson, Rocks

Jill Sweeney, Misbehaviour

Best Music

Roque Baños, His House

Paul Corley, Mogul Mowgli

Nainita Desai, The Reason I Jump

Connie Farr, Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch, Rocks

Adam Janota Bzowski, Saint Maud

Best Production Design

Jacqueline Abrahams, His House

Cristina Casali, Misbehaviour

Peter Francis, The Father

Marketa Korinkova, Elo Soode, Undergods

Paulina Rzeszowska, Saint Maud

Best Sound

Adrian Bell, Glenn Freemantle, Frank Kruse, Brendan Nicholson, Richard Pryke, His House

Paul Davies, Saint Maud

Paul Davies, Robert Farr, Nigel Albermaniche, Ian Morgan, Mogul Mowgli

Nick Ryan, Ben Baird, Sara De Oliveira Lima, The Reason I Jump

Calum Sample, Host


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Grace Carbone

Nicolas Cage to Delve Deep Into the ‘History of Swear Words’ on Netflix

Delroy Lindo and Yahya Abdul-Mateen II Among Honorees at the Critics Choice Association’s Celebration of Black Cinema