in ,

2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominees Announced

Today Film Independent announced their nominations for their annual Spirit Awards, which will take place on Sunday March 6, 2022. Leading the way with seven nominations was Janicza Bravo‘s Zola. In addition, Fran Kranz and the cast of Mass will be receiving the Robert Altman Award, which, according to Film Independent, is “bestowed upon one film’s director, casting director and ensemble casts.” Below are the full list of nominees:

Best Feature
“A Chiara”
“C’mon C’mon”
“The Lost Daughter”
“The Novice”

Best Director
Janicza Bravo, “Zola”
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter
Lauren Hadaway, The Novice
Mike Mills, “C’Mon, C’mon”
Ninja Thyberg, “Pleasure”

Best First Feature
“7 Days”
“Queen of Glory”
“Test Pattern”
“Wild Indian”

Best Female Lead
Isabelle Fuhrman, “The Novice”
Brittany S. Hall, “Test Pattern”
Patti Harrison, “Together, together”
Taylour Paige, “Zola”
Kali Reis, “Catch the Fair One”

Best Male Lead
Clifton Collins, Jr., “Jockey”
Frankie Faison, “The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain”
Michael Greyeyes, “Wild Indian”
Udo Kier, “Swan Song”
Simon Rex, “Red Rocket”

Best Supporting Female
Jessie Buckley, “The Lost Daughter”
Amy Forsyth, “The Novice”
Ruth Negga, “Passing”
Revika Anne Reustle, “Pleasure”
Suzanna Son, “Red Rocket”

Best Supporting Male
Colman Domingo, “Zola”
Meeko Gattuso, “Queen of Glory”
Troy Kotsur, “CODA”
Will Patton, “Sweet Thing”
Chaske Spencer, “Wild Indian”

Best Screenplay
“C’mon, C’mon”
“The Lost Daughter”
“Swan Song”
“Together, Together”

Best First Screenplay
“Test Pattern”
“Wild Indian”

Best Cinematography
“A Chiara”
“Blue Bayou”
“The Humans”

Best Editing
“A Chiara”
“The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain”
“The Novice”
“The Nowhere Inn”

Robert Altman Award
The Director, Cast, and Casting Director of “Mass”

Best Documentary
“In the Same Breath”
“Summer of Soul”

Best International Film
“Compartment No. 6”
“Drive My Car”
“Parallel Mothers”
“Petite Maman”
“Prayers for the Stolen”

Someone to Watch Award
Alex Camilleri, “Luzzu”
Gillian Wallace Horvat, “I Blame Society”
Michael Sarnoski, “Pig”

Truer Than Fiction Award
“North by Current”
“Faya Dayi”
“Try Harder!”

John Cassavetes Award
“Shiva Baby”
“Sweet Thing”
“This Is Not a War Story”

Producers Award
Brad Becker-Parton
Pin-Chun Liu
Lizzie Shapiro

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series
“Black and Missing”
“The Choe Show”
“The Lady and the Dale”
“Nuclear Family”
“Philly D.A.”

Best New Scripted Series
“It’s a Sin”
“Reservation Dogs”
“The Underground Railroad”
“We Are Lady Parts”

Best Female Performance in a Scripted Series
Thuso Mbedu, “The Underground Railroad”
Anjana Vasan, “We Are Lady Parts”
Jana Schmieding, “Rutherford Falls”
Jasmine Cephus Jones, “Blindspotting”
Deborah Ayorinde, “THEM: Covenant”

Best Male Performance in a Scripted Series
Ollie Alexander, “It’s a Sin”
Murray Bartlett, “The White Lotus”
Michael Greyeyes, “Rutherford Falls”
Ashley Thomas, “THEM: Covenant”
Lee Jung-jae, “Squid Game”

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series
“Reservation Dogs”

Source: Film Independent


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Maxance Vincent

Maxance Vincent is a freelance film and TV critic, and a recent graduate of a BFA in Film Studies at the Université de Montréal. He is currently finishing a specialization in Video Game Studies, focusing on the psychological effects regarding the critical discourse on violent video games.

Film Review: ‘Spider-Man: No Way Home’ is an Epic, Intense, and Satisfying Adventure for Peter Parker

Film Review: ‘The King’s Man’ Removes Too Much of the Fun From the Spy Franchise