Taika Waititi’s ‘Next Goal Wins’ to Release in September 2023

The cast of NEXT GOAL WINS. Photo by Hilary Bronwyn Gayle. Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures. © 2022 20th Century Studios All Rights Reserved.

Searchlight Pictures has announced that Taika Waititi‘s Next Goal Wins will be released in theatres on September 22, 2023. Based on the 2014 documentary by Mike Brett and Steve Jamison, the movie stars Michael Fassbender, Oscar Kightley, Kaimana David Fane, Rachel House, Beulah Koale, Uli Latukefu, Semu Filipo, Lehi Falepapalangi, Will Arnett, and Elizabeth Moss.

Its plot synopsis reads, “Directed by Academy Award Winner Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit, Thor: Ragnarok), NEXT GOAL WINS follows the American Samoa soccer team, infamous for their brutal 31-0 FIFA loss in 2001. With the World Cup Qualifiers approaching, the team hires down-on-his-luck, maverick coach Thomas Rongen (Michael Fassbender), hoping he will turn the world’s worst soccer team around in this heartfelt underdog comedy.”

Waititi has also co-written the screenplay with Iain Morris. The film’s September release is a likely hope that it will be an Awards season favorite, with Waititi’s last non-MCU film, Jojo Rabbit, winning several awards, including the Academy Award for Best Adapted Screenplay. Waititi is the first person of Maori descent to win an Oscar.

Source: Searchlight Pictures (press release)


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Maxance Vincent

Maxance Vincent is a freelance film and TV critic, and a recent graduate of a BFA in Film Studies at the Université de Montréal. He is currently finishing a specialization in Video Game Studies, focusing on the psychological effects regarding the critical discourse on violent video games.

On the Radar… (Beginning of the Year Edition)

Interview: Saim Sadiq Discusses Pakistan’s Brilliantly Provocative Oscar Contender ‘Joyland’