in ,

The Academy May Bring Back All Categories For 2023 Broadcast

In a recent conference call, The Academy of Motion Picture, Arts and Sciences CEO Bill Kamer has expressed his interest in bringing back all 23 categories for the 95th Academy Awards, which will take place on March 12, 2023.

The CEO has said that he is interested in putting back the categories which were excluded in the live telecast, Best Animated Short Film, Best Documentary Short Subject, Best Film Editing, Best Live Action Short Film, Best Makeup and Hairstyling, Best Original Score, Best Production Design, and Best Sound, but didn’t offer any details about what will occur:

“We have been talking to ABC about all aspects of the show. We want to see all disciplines equitably acknowledged on the show, that is our goal. There are many ways to do that, and we’re working that through with ABC right now.”

With the recent announcements of the Independent Spirit Awards and Canadian Screen Awards moving to gender-neutral categories for their respective 2023 ceremonies, Kramer has also expressed in interest in doing the same thing, but says that there are currently no plans to implement it for the foreseeable future:

“We are conducting due diligence on that to see what that could look like, but there’s no plan right now to activate that.”

The CEO also wants to move away from any unnecessary drama surrounding the Will Smith/Chris Rock slap, stating that they want to “move forward and have an Oscars that celebrates cinema. That’s our focus right now, it’s really about moving forward.”

Source: Variety


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Maxance Vincent

Maxance Vincent is a freelance film and TV critic, and a recent graduate of a BFA in Film Studies at the Université de Montréal. He is currently finishing a specialization in Video Game Studies, focusing on the psychological effects regarding the critical discourse on violent video games.

Interview: Talking Transformations with the Hair and Makeup Team from ‘Pam & Tommy’

Winners Announced at the 9th Annual Location Managers Guild Awards