Emma Stone as Cruella. Costume design by Jenny Beavan. Photo by Laurie Sparham. © 2021 Disney Enterprises Inc. All Rights Reserved.
in ,

‘Cruella’ and ‘Dune’ Emerge Victorious From the Costume Designers Guild Awards

Earlier tonight, the 24th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards were held. As always, the winners here often get a leg up in the Oscar race for Best Costume Design. This year, the Academy will be again choosing from some of these victors. The Sci-Fi / Fantasy category went to Dune, while Contemporary went to Coming 2 America, with the Period prize being awarded to Cruella. Stay tuned to see if Cruella or Dune capitalize here and win at the Oscars next.

Here are all of the winners from the Costume Designers Guild Awards:

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

Dune – Jacqueline West & Robert Morgan (WINNER)
The Green Knight – Malgosia Turzanska
The Matrix Resurrections – Lindsay Pugh
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings – Kym Barrett
Spider-Man: No Way Home – Sanja M. Hays
The Suicide Squad – Judianna Makovsky

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Coming 2 America – Ruth E. Carter (WINNER)
Don’t Look Up – Susan Matheson
In the Heights – Mitchell Travers
No Time to Die – Suttirat Anne Larlarb
Zola – Derica Cole Washington

Excellence in Period Film

Cruella – Jenny Beavan (WINNER)
Cyrano – Massimo Cantini Parrini & Jacqueline Durran
House of Gucci – Janty Yates
Nightmare Alley – Luis Sequeira
West Side Story – Paul Tazewell

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

The Book of Boba Fett: “Chapter 1” – Shawna Trpcic (WINNER)
The Handmaid’s Tale: “Nightshade” – Debra Hanson
Loki: “Journey into Mystery” – Christine Wada
What We Do in the Shadows: “Gail” – Laura Montgomery
The Witcher: “Family” – Lucinda Wright

Excellence in Contemporary Television

Emily in Paris: “French Revolution” – Patricia Field & Marylin Fitoussi (WINNER)
Euphoria: “F*ck Anyone Who’s Not a Sea Blob” – Heidi Bivens
Hacks: “Pilot” – Kathleen Felix-Hager
Mare of Easttown: “Miss Ladyhawk Herself” – Meghan Kasperlik
Squid Game: “VIPS” – Cho Sang-kyung

Excellence in Period Television

The Great: “Seven Days” – Sharon Long (WINNER)
Halston: “Becoming Halston” – Jeriana San Juan
The Underground Railroad: “Chapter 8: Indiana Autumn” – Caroline Eselin-Schaefer
WandaVision: “Filmed Before a Live Studio Audience” – Mayes C. Rubeo
What We Do in the Shadows: “The Wellness Centre” – Laura Montgomery

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

Saturday Night Live: “Rami Malek / Young Thug” – Tom Broecker & Eric Justian (WINNER)
Annie Live! – Emilio Sosa
Dancing with the Stars: “Semi-Finals” – Daniela Gschwendtner & Steven Norman Lee
The Late Late Show with James Corden: “Crosswalk Cinderella” – Lauren Shapiro
The Masked Singer: “2 Night Season Premiere, Part 2: Back to School” – Marina Toybina & Gabrielle Letamendi

Excellence in Short Form Design

Swarovski: “Welcome to Wonderlab” (Commercial) – B. Åkerlund (WINNER)
The Bold Type: “Cruella” (Commercial) – Mandi Line
Cadillac: Edgar Scissorhands ft. Timothée Chalamet, “Hands Free” (Commercial) – Melissa DesRosiers
Ed Sheeran: “Shivers” (Music Video) – Ami Goodheart
Snoop Dogg’s Triller: Fight Club “We’re Bringing Boxing Back” (Commercial) – Dawn Ritz

Congrats to all of the winners!

Source: THR


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Steven Prusakowski

Steven Prusakowski has been a cinephile as far back as he can remember, literally. At the age of ten, while other kids his age were sleeping, he was up into the late hours of the night watching the Oscars. Since then, his passion for film, television, and awards has only grown. For over a decade he has reviewed and written about entertainment through publications including Awards Circuit and Screen Radar. He has conducted interviews with some of the best in the business - learning more about them, their projects and their crafts. He is a graduate of the RIT film program. You can find him on Twitter and Letterboxd as @FilmSnork – we don’t know why the name, but he seems to be sticking to it.
Email: filmsnork@gmail.com

New Trailer for ‘Pleasure’ Releases with a Quote From Our Own Joey Magidson!

Film Review: ‘The Adam Project’ Sees Shawn Levy and Ryan Reynolds Crafting a Modern Day Amblin Adventure