in ,

USC Scripter Prize Goes To ‘The Lost Daughter’


Earlier tonight, the 34th annual USC Libraries Scripter Awards were held, which always marks an interesting point in the Best Adapted Screenplay race. This time around, a bit of an upset occurred, with Maggie Gyllenhaal‘s script for The Lost Daughter beating Jane Campion‘s one for The Power of the Dog. Does this mean anything for Oscar? We shall see. However, it’s definitely some food for thought.

Here are the full USC Scripter results:

The other film nominees were:

  • Dune (screenwriters Eric RothJon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve), based on the novel of the same name (author Frank Herbert)
  • The Lost Daughter (screenwriter Maggie Gyllenhaal), based on the novel of the same name (author Elena Ferrante)
  • Passing (screenwriter Rebecca Hall), based on the novel of the same name (author Nella Larsen)
  • The Power of the Dog (screenwriter Jane Campion), based on the novel of the same name (author Thomas Savage)
  • The Tragedy of Macbeth (screenwriter Joel Coen), based on the play Macbeth (playwright William Shakespeare)

Meanwhile, the other nominees for the episodic TV Scripter Award (which was only introduced in 2016), were:

  • Dopesick episode “The People vs. Perdue Pharma” (writer Danny Strong), based on the nonfiction book Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors and the Drug Company That Addicted America (author Beth Macy)
  • Maid episode “Dollar Store” (writer Molly Smith Metzler), based on the memoir Maid: Hard Work, Loy Pay and a Mother’s Will to Survive (author Stephanie Land)
  • Station Eleven episode “Wheel of Fire” (writer Patrick Somerville), based on the novel Station Eleven (author Emily St. John Mandel)
  • The Underground Railroad episode “Indiana Winter” (writer Barry Jenkins), based on the novel The Underground Railroad (author Colson Whitehead)
  • WandaVision episode “Filmed Before a Live Studio Audience” (writer Jac Schaeffer), based on Marvel Comics (characters created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby)

Source: THR


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Steven Prusakowski

Steven Prusakowski has been a cinephile as far back as he can remember, literally. At the age of ten, while other kids his age were sleeping, he was up into the late hours of the night watching the Oscars. Since then, his passion for film, television, and awards has only grown. For over a decade he has reviewed and written about entertainment through publications including Awards Circuit and Screen Radar. He has conducted interviews with some of the best in the business - learning more about them, their projects and their crafts. He is a graduate of the RIT film program. You can find him on Twitter and Letterboxd as @FilmSnork – we don’t know why the name, but he seems to be sticking to it.

Awards Radar TV’s 2022 SAG Awards Predictions (That Funny Feeling)

In Its 20th Season, ‘American Idol’ Has The Ticket For Success