in ,

African American Film Critics Association Award Winners Announced

Earlier today, the African American Film Critics Association announced their winners for this year’s award ceremony. Taking the top prize was Jeymes Samuel‘s The Harder They Fall, with Samuel also winning Best Director. Below is the list of complete winners:

Best Picture: The Harder They Fall

Best Director: Jeymes Samuel, The Harder They Fall

Best Screenplay: Adam McKay, Don’t Look Up

Best Actor: Will Smith, King Richard

Best Actress: Jennifer Hudson, Respect

Best Supporting Actor: Corey Hawkins, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Best Supporting Actress: Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard

Breakout Actor: Saniyya Sidney, King Richard

Best Ensemble: The Harder They Fall

Emerging Director: Reinaldo Marcus Green, King Richard

Best Music: Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z, The Harder They Fall

Best Independent Feature: Who We Are

Best Documentary: Summer of Soul

Source: AAFCA


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Maxance Vincent

Maxance Vincent is a freelance film and TV critic, and a recent graduate of a BFA in Film Studies at the Université de Montréal. He is currently finishing a specialization in Video Game Studies, focusing on the psychological effects regarding the critical discourse on violent video games.

Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day! A Reminder That ‘Selma’ is Still Great!

Seattle Film Critics Society Award Winners Announced