in ,

DGA Awards Given to Chloé Zhao and Darius Marder

Tonight, the Directors Guild of America held their big awards ceremony. Of course, we all went in to this DGA show knowing that Chloé Zhao was going win the big category for her Nomadland work. That proved to be the case, as Zhao beat back Lee Isaac Chung (Minari), Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman), David Fincher (Mank), and Aaron Sorkin (The Trial of the Chicago 7). Zhao’s march to Oscar continues unabated. However, there was more suspense in the DGA category of First Time Feature. There, Radha Blank (The Forty Year Old Version), Fernando Frías de la Parra (I’m No Longer Here), Regina King (One Night in Miami…), Darius Marder (Sound of Metal), and Florian Zeller (The Father). There, Marder pulled what may be considered an upset. Read on for more from the Directors Guild…

Here are all of the DGA winners:

Outstanding Achievement in Theatrical Feature Film for 2020:

LEE ISAAC CHUNG | Minari (A24)

EMERALD FENNELL | Promising Young Woman (Focus Features)

DAVID FINCHER | Mank (Netflix)

AARON SORKIN | The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Netflix; DreamWorks Pictures)

CHLOÉ ZHAO | Nomadland (Searchlight Pictures)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director:

RADHA BLANK | The Forty-Year-Old Version (Netflix)

FERNANDO FRÍAS DE LA PARRA | I’m No Longer Here (Netflix)

REGINA KING | One Night in Miami (Amazon Studios)

DARIUS MARDER | Sound of Metal (Amazon Studios)

FLORIAN ZELLER | The Father (Sony Pictures Classics)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series

LESLI LINKA GLATTER | Homeland, “Prisoners of War” (Showtime) (WINNER)

JASON BATEMAN | Ozark, “Wartime” (Netflix)

JON FAVREAU | The Mandalorian, “Chapter 9: The Marshal” (Disney+)

VINCE GILLIGAN | Better Call Saul, “Bagman” (AMC)

JULIE ANNE ROBINSON | Bridgerton, “Diamond of the First Water” (Netflix)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series

SUSANNA FOGEL | The Flight Attendant, “In Case of Emergency” (HBO Max) (WINNER)

ZACH BRAFF | Ted Lasso, “Biscuits” (Apple TV+)

MJ DELANEY | Ted Lasso, “The Hope that Kills You” (Apple TV+)

ERIN O’MALLEY | Curb Your Enthusiasm, “The Surprise Party” (HBO)

JEFF SCHAFFER | Curb Your Enthusiasm, “The Spite Store” (HBO)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Limited Series

SCOTT FRANK | The Queen’s Gambit (Netflix) (WINNER)

SUSANNE BIER | The Undoing (HBO)

THOMAS KAIL | Hamilton (Disney+)

MATT SHAKMAN | WandaVision (Disney +)

LYNN SHELTON | Little Fires Everywhere, “Find a Way” (Hulu)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

DON ROY KING | Saturday Night Live, “Dave Chappelle; Foo Fighters” (NBC) (WINNER)

PAUL G. CASEY | Real Time With Bill Maher, “Episode 1835” (HBO)

JIM HOSKINSON | The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, “#1025 Live Show Following Capitol Insurrection” (CBS)

DAVID PAUL MEYER | The Daily Show with Trevor Noah, “President Obama: Inspiring Future Leaders” & “A Promised Land” (Comedy Central)

CHRISTOPHER WERNER | Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, “Trump & Election Results” (HBO)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

THOMAS SCHLAMME | A West Wing Special to Benefit When We All Vote (HBO Max) (WINNER)

STACEY ANGELES | The Daily Show with Trevor Noah Presents “Remembering RBG: A Nation Ugly Cried with Desi Lydic (Comedy Central)

MARIELLE HELLER | What the Constitution Means to Me (Amazon)

JIM HOSKINSON | The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, “Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020: Democracy’s Last Stand: Building Back America Great Again Better 2020” (Showtime)

SPIKE LEE | American Utopia (HBO)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs

JOSEPH GUIDRY | Full Bloom, “Petal to the Metal” (HBO Max) (WINNER)

DAVID CHARLES | Eco Challenge, “3,2,1…Go!” (Amazon)

JON FAVREAU | The Chef Show, “Tartine” (Netflix)

KEN FUCHS | Shark Tank, “1211” (ABC)

RICH KIM | Lego Masters, “Mega City Block” (FOX)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Children’s Programs

AMY SCHATZ | We Are the Dream: The Kids of the Oakland MLK Oratorical Fest (HBO) (WINNER)

KABIR AKHTAR | High School Musical: The Musical ‑ The Series, “Opening Night” (Disney+)

LARISSA BILLS | On Pointe, “Showtime!” (Disney+)

DEAN ISRAELITE | The Astronauts, “Countdown” (Nickelodeon)

RICHIE KEEN | The Healing Powers of Dude, “Second Step: Homeroom” (Netflix)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials

MELINA MATSOUKAS (Prettybird) | You Love Me, Beats by Dr. Dre ‑ Translation (WINNER)

STEVE AYSON (MJZ) | The Great Chase, Nike ‑ Wieden + Kennedy Shanghai

NISHA GANATRA (Chelsea Pictures) | #wombstories, Bodyform/Libresse – AMVBBDO

NICLAS LARSSON (MJZ) | See the Unseen, VW Touareg ‑ adam&eveDDB; The Parents, Volvo XC60 ‑ Forsman & Bodenfors

TAIKA WAITITI (Hungry Man) | The Letter, Coca‑Cola ‑ Wieden & Kennedy London

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary

MICHAEL DWECK & GREGORY KERSHAW | The Truffle Hunters (Sony Pictures Classics)

PIPPA EHRLICH & JAMES REED | My Octopus Teacher (Netflix)

DAVID FRANCE | Welcome to Chechnya (HBO Max)

AMANDA McBAINE & JESSE MOSS | Boys State (Apple/A24)

BENJAMIN REE | The Painter and the Thief (Elevation Pictures)


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Joey Magidson

Art Directors Guild Winners Announced!

Awards Radar Community: Who Would Win in a Battle Between Godzilla and Kong?