Searchlight Pictures

Seattle Film Critics Continue the Winning Ways for ‘Nomadland’

The Seattle Film Critics Society have announced their winners today for the year in film, and Nomadland has run the show once again, taking the awards for Best Picture, Best Director (Chloé Zhao) and Best Actress (Frances McDormand). This adds to the film’s impressive frontrunner status from critics groups in these categories. 

The same is true for Best Actor winner Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal) and Best Supporting Actress winner Yuh-jung Youn (Minari) adding more notches to their already stacked belts. 

Elsewhere, it’s a good time for Daniel Kaluuya to be picking up some steam, as he took home the Best Supporting Actor prize as his film Judas and the Black Messiah has just become available to stream on HBO Max this past weekend. With the supporting actor race still wide open, Kaluuya is a big threat to surge his way to the top of the group by the time we reach Oscar night. 

For the full list of winners from the SFCS, see below: 

Best Picture of the Year

  • Nomadland (Searchlight Pictures)

Best Director

  • Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Frances McDormand – Nomadland

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Yuh-jung Youn – Minari

Best Ensemble Cast

  • Da 5 Bloods – Kim Coleman, casting director

Best Action Choreography

  • Tenet

Best Screenplay

  • Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell

Best Animated Feature

  • Wolfwalkers – Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart, director

Best Documentary Feature

  • The History of the Seattle Mariners: Supercut Edition – Jon Bois, director

Best Film Not in the English Language

  • Minari – Lee Isaac Chung, director

Best Cinematography

  • Nomadland – Joshua James Richards

Best Costume Design

  • Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth

Best Film Editing

  • Nomadland – Chloé Zhao

Best Original Score

  • Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste

Best Production Design

  • Mank – Donald Graham Burt (Production Design); Jan Pascale (Set Decorator)

Best Visual Effects

  • Tenet – Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley, Scott Fisher, Mike Chambers

Best Youth Performance (18 years of age or younger upon start of filming):

  • Alan Kim – Minari

Villain of the Year:

·        The Invisible Man/Adrian Griffin – The Invisible Man – portrayed by Oliver Jackson-Cohen


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Mitchell Beaupre

Interview: Dakota Johnson Talks ‘Our Friend’ and What’s Next

Steve McQueen Has an Opinion Regarding Whether ‘Small Axe’ is a Film or a Television Series