Janus Films
in ,

2021 LA Film Critics Association Announced with ‘Drive My Car’ Taking Home Best Picture

The LA Film Critics Association took to Twitter earlier today to announce their winners for this year’s film season and made some bold choices in their awards. Jane Campion’s The Power of the Dog and Ryusake Hamaguchi’s Drive My Car were the biggest winners of the night, with the former winning Best Picture, Best Director, Best Supporting Actor (in a tie), and Best Cinematography with runner-up placements in Best Actor and Best Score, and the latter taking home Best Screenplay on top of a runner-up position in Best Director and Best Picture. However, several films will be celebrating tonight as Summer of Soul and Parallel Mothers earned two awards each, and even Barb and Star Go to Vista Del Mar manages to claim a top spot in Best Production Design. Simon Rex also pulled an upset win, taking Best Actor for his work in Red Rocket.

The entire list of winners can be found below.

Best Picture
WINNER: Drive My Car
RUNNER-UP: The Power of the Dog

Best Director
WINNER: Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog
RUNNER-UP: Ryusake Hamaguchi, Drive My Car

Best Actor
WINNER: Simon Rex, Red Rocket
RUNNER-UP: Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog

Best Actress
WINNER: Penelope Cruz, Parallel Mothers
RUNNER-UP: Renate Reinsve, The Worst Person in the World

Best Supporting Actor
WINNER (tie): Vincent Lindon, Titane and Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power of the Dog

Best Supporting Actress
WINNER: Ariana DeBose, West Side Story
RUNNER-UP: Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard

Best Screenplay
WINNER: Ryusake Hamaguchi and Takamasa Oe, Drive My Car
RUNNER-UP: Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza

Best Animation

Best Documentary/Nonfiction
WINNER: Summer of Soul
RUNNER-UP: Procession

Best Foreign-Language
WINNER: Petite Maman
RUNNER-UP: Quo Vadis, Aida?

Best Cinematography
WINNER: Ari Wegner, The Power of the Dog
RUNNER-UP: Greig Fraser, Dune

Best Editing
WINNER: Joshua L. Pearson, Summer of Soul
RUNNER-UP: Andy Jurgensen, Licorice Pizza

Best Music/Score
WINNER: Alberto Iglesias, Parallel Mothers
RUNNER-UP: Jonny Greenwood, The Power of the Dog and Spencer

Best Production Design
WINNER: Steve Saklad, Barb and Star go to Vista Del Mar
RUNNER-UP: Tamara Deverell, Nightmare Alley

New Generation
WINNER (tie): Shatara Michelle Ford, Test Pattern and Tatiana Huezo, Prayers for the Stolen


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Amy Smith

Interview: ‘Mass’ Composer Darren Morze On Creating a Score for the Audience’s Subconscious

Sunday Scaries: Last Minute Horror Holiday Gifts