Focus Features
in ,

BIFA 2021 Nominations Have Been Revealed, With ‘Belfast’ and ‘Boiling Point’ Leading the Pack

The 2021 nominees for the British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) were revealed earlier this morning live at London’s Curzon Soho cinema. Kenneth Branagh‘s Belfast and Philip Barantini‘s Boiling Point lead nominations, earning 11 each.

An autobiographical tale of life as a young boy in Belfast in 1969 in the midst of the Troubles, nominations for Branagh’s Belfast include acting nominations for Caitríona Balfe and Judi Dench, as well as a breakthrough performance nomination for newcomer Jude Hill.

Following an up-and-coming chef under extreme pressure, Boiling Point also did well in the acting categories this morning, securing nominations for Stephen Graham and Ray Panthaki on top of a breakthrough performance nomination for Lauryn Ajufo.

BIFA co-directors Amy Gustin and Deena Wallace started the presentation this morning, thanking the organization’s board members, supporters and sponsors, adding: “BIFA is now much more than just an awards ceremony. Thanks to funding from the BFI and Screen Skills over this last year, we’ve been able to push ahead with our work supporting emerging filmmakers.”

You can find the full list of nominees below. Craft category winners will be announced on November 19th, whilst the remaining awards will be handed out at the awards ceremony on December 5th.

The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Actor to British Film

Best British Independent Film
“After Love” – Aleem Khan, Matthieu De Braconier
“Ali & Ava” – Clio Barnard, Tracy O’riordan
“Boiling Point” – Philip Barantini, James Cummings, Bart Ruspoli, Hester Ruoff
“The Nest” – Sean Durkin, Ed Guiney, Derrin Schlesinger, Rose Garnett, Amy Jackson, Cristina Piovesan
“The Souvenir Part II” – Joanna Hogg, Ed Guiney, Emma Norton, Andrew Lowe, Luke Schiller

Best Director
Philip Barantini – “Boiling Point”
Clio Barnard – “Ali & Ava”
Sean Durkin – “The Nest”
Joanna Hogg – “The Souvenir Part II”
Aleem Khan – “After Love”

Best Actress
Caitríona Balfe – “Belfast”
Carrie Coon – “The Nest”
Claire Rushbrook – “Ali & Ava”
Joanna Scanlan – “After Love”
Ruth Wilson – “True Things”

Best Supporting Actress
Judi Dench – “Belfast”
Jo Hartley – “Sweetheart”
Nathalie Richard – “After Love”
Vinette Robinson – “Boiling Point”
Tilda Swinton – “The Souvenir Part II”

The Douglas Hickox Award
(Best Debut Director)
Prano Bailey-Bond – “Censor”
Celeste Bell – “Poly Styrene: I Am A Cliché” [also directed by Paul Sng]
Cathy Brady – “Wildfire”
Aleem Khan – “After Love”
Marley Morrison – “Sweetheart”

Breakthrough Performance
Lauryn Ajufo – “Boiling Point”
Nell Barlow – “Sweetheart”
Max Harwood – “Everybody’s Talking About Jamie”
Jude Hill – “Belfast”
Ellora Torchia – “In The Earth”

Best Documentary Sponsored By Intermission
“Cow” – Andrea Arnold, Kat Mansoor
“Dying To Divorce” – Chloë Fairweather, Sinead Kirwan
“I Am Belmaya” – Sue Carpenter, Christopher Hird
“Keyboard Fantasies” – Posy Dixon, Liv Proctor
“Poly Styrene: I Am A Cliché” – Paul Sng, Celeste Bell, Zoë Howe, Rebecca Mark-lawson, Matthew Silverman, Daria Nitsche

Best Screenplay Sponsored By BBC Film
Clio Barnard – “Ali & Ava”
Terence Davies – “Benediction”
Sean Durkin – “The Nest”
Joanna Hogg – “The Souvenir Part II”
Aleem Khan – “After Love”

Best Actor
Riz Ahmed – “Encounter”
Adeel Akhtar – “Ali & Ava”
Stephen Graham – “Boiling Point”
Jude Law – “The Nest”
James Norton – “Nowhere Special”

Best Supporting Actor
Talid Ariss – “After Love”
Richard Ayoade – “The Souvenir Part II”
Lucian-River Chauhan – “Encounter”
Ciarán Hinds – “Belfast”
Ray Panthaki – “Boiling Point”

Breakthrough Producer Sponsored By Pinewood Studio Group
Michelle Antoniades – “Sweetheart”
Helen Jones – “Censor”
Jessica Malik – “She Will” [also produced by Bob Last]
Hester Ruoff – “Boiling Point” [also produced by Bart Ruspoli]
Rob Watson – “The Power” [also produced by Matthew James Wilkinson]

Best Debut Screenwriter Sponsored By Film4
Prano Bailey-Bond – “Censor” [also written by Anthony Fletcher]
Cathy Brady – “Wildfire”
Aleem Khan – “After Love”
Marley Morrison – “Sweetheart”
Reggie Yates – “Pirates”

The Raindance Discovery Award
“Bank Job” – Daniel Edelstyn, Hilary Powell, Christopher Hird
“The Bike Thief” – Matt Chambers, Pk Fellowes, Sophia Gibber, Lene Bausager
“I Am Belmaya” – Sue Carpenter, Christopher Hird
“Poly Styrene: I Am A Cliché” – Paul Sng, Celeste Bell, Zoë Howe, Rebecca Mark-lawson, Matthew Silverman, Daria Nitsche
“Rebel Dykes” – Harri Shanahan, Siân A. Williams, Siobhan Fahey

Best British Short Film Supported By Bfi Network
“Egúngún” (Masquerade) – Olive Nwosu, Alex Polunin
“Femme” – Sam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Riztenberg, Hayley Williams, Rienjke Attoh
“Night Of The Living Dread” – Ida Melum, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso, Danielle Goff
“Play It Safe” – Mitch Kalisa, Chris Toumazou
“Precious Hair & Beauty” – John Ogunmuyiwa, Sophia Gibber, Tony Longe, Lene Bausager

Best International Independent Film Sponsored By Champagne Taittinger
“Compartment No. 6” – Juho Kuosmanen, Livia Ulman, Andris Feldmanis, Jussi Rantamäki, Emilia Haukka
“First Cow” – Kelly Reichardt, Jon Raymond, Neil Kopp, Vincent Savino, Anish Savjani
“Flee” – Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Amin Nawabi, Monica Hellstrøm, Signe Byrge Sørensen
“Petite Maman” – Céline Sciamma, Bénédicte Couvreur
“Pleasure” – Ninja Thyberg, Peter Modestij, Erik Hemmendorff, Eliza Jones, Markus Waltå

Best Casting Sponsored By Spotlight & Casting Society
Shaheen Baig – “After Love”
Shaheen Baig – “Ali & Ava”
Shaheen Baig – “Pirates”
Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann – “Belfast”
Carolyn Mcleod – “Boiling Point”

Best Cinematography Sponsored By Dirty Looks & Kodak
Mátyás Erdély – “The Nest”
Magdalena Kowalczyk – “Cow”
Matthew Lewis – “Boiling Point”
Annika Summerson – “Censor”
Haris Zambarloukos – “Belfast”

Best Costume Design
Michael O’connor – “The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain”
Grace Snell – “The Souvenir Part II”
Guy Speranza – “Everybody’s Talking About Jamie”
Annie Symons – “Benediction”
Charlotte Walter – “Belfast”

Best Music Sponsored By Universal Music Publishing
Iain Cooke – “Pirates”
Connie Farr, Harry Escott – “Ali & Ava”
Jed Kurzel – “Encounter”
Clint Mansell – “In The Earth”
Van Morrison – “Belfast”

Best Effects
Steven Bray, Mike Knights – “Dashcam”
Gary Brown, István Molnár, Dan Martin – “Censor”
Rupert Davies – “The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain”

Best Editing
Helle Le Fevre – “The Souvenir Part II”
Rebecca Lloyd, Jacob Schulsinger, Nicolas Chaudeurge – “Cow”
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – “Belfast”
Mark Towns – “Censor”
Ben Wheatley – “In The Earth”

Best Make-up & Hair
Siobhan Harper-Ryan – “The Souvenir Part II”
Vickie Lang, Kristyan Mallett, Donald Mcinnes – “The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain”
Ruth Pease – “Censor”
Nadia Stacey ” Everybody’s Talking About Jamie”
Wakana Yoshihara – “Belfast”

Best Production Design
Jim Clay – “Belfast”
Stéphane Collonge – “The Souvenir Part II”
Suzie Davies – “The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain”
Aimee Meek – “Boiling Point”
Paulina Rzeszowska – “Censor”

Best Sound Supported By Halo
Nicolas Becker, Cyril Holtz, Linda Forsen – “Cow”
James Drake – “Boiling Point”
Tim Harrison, Jamie Roden, Adele Fletcher – “Censor”
Martin Pavey – “In The Earth”
Andrew Stirk, Paul Davies, Morgan Muse, Bernard O’Reilly, Julian Howarth – “Encounter”


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Amy Smith

Film Review: ‘Finch’ Finds Tom Hanks At Peak Humanity Among a Dog and a Robot

Interview: ‘Luzzu’ Director Alex Camilleri on Crafting an Authentic Maltese Film