Searchlight Pictures
in ,

Southeastern Film Critics Are the Latest to Go for ‘Nomadland’

The Southeastern Film Critics Association have announced their winners for the 2020 awards season, and it’s a big day for Nomadland yet again. Chloé Zhao’s drama of life on the road picked up the most wins with five, getting the gold in Best Picture, Best Director (Zhao), Best Actress (Frances McDormand), Best Adapted Screenplay (Zhao), and Best Cinematography (Joshua James Richards). 

Their runner-up slot in Picture, where they listed their Top 10 Films of the year, went to Minari, which earned wins for Best Supporting Actress for Young Yuh-jung and Best Original Screenplay for the film’s writer/director Lee Isaac Chung

For the full list of winners and runner-ups, from the SEFCA, see below: 

Top 10 Films

1. Nomadland

2. Minari

3. The Trial of the Chicago 7

4. Promising Young Woman

5. Sound of Metal

6. One Night in Miami…

7. Da 5 Bloods

8. Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

9. Soul

10. Mank

Best Actor

Winner: Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Runner-Up: Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal

Best Actress

Winner: Frances McDormand – Nomadland

Runner-Up: Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Runner-Up: Paul Raci – Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Youn Yuh-jung – Minari

Runner-Up: Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Best Ensemble

Winner: The Trial of the Chicago 7

Runner-Up: One Night in Miami…

Best Director

Winner: Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Runner-Up: Regina King – One Night in Miami…

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Lee Isaac Chung – Minari

Runner-Up: Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Runner-Up: Kemp Powers – One Night in Miami…

Best Documentary

Winner: Time

Runner-Up: Dick Johnson Is Dead

Best Foreign-Language Film

Winner: Another Round

Runner-Up: Bacurau

Best Animated Film

Winner: Soul

Runner-Up: Wolfwalkers

Best Cinematography

Winner: Joshua James Richards – Nomadland

Runner-Up: Erik Messerschmidt – Mank

The Gene Wyatt Award

Winner: Minari

Runner-Up: One Night in Miami…


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments



Written by Mitchell Beaupre

Interview: Director Susanne Bier Talks ‘The Undoing’ and More

‘Gaslit’ Picked Up by Starz, Will Star Sean Penn and Julia Roberts